She is….

Here safely. My daughter, a precious new life that came into being within me. A tiny thing that relies on me for warmth and sustenance, utterly dependent. Huge bright eyes that follow my every motion, tiny rosebud mouth that breaks into a gummy genuine smile at the slightest bit of attention. Wee nose that wrinkles up as she puzzles and concentrates and tries to shape the words that she hears. Plump cheeks that fill roundly as she coos her approval. Tiny fingers intertwined around my one large one holding fast – a strength belied by her size.

She is a thought. A poem. A lyric. A dream. A work of art beyond the greatest masterpiece ever conceived and rendered by man. She is the echo in my every heartbeat and my reason for waking.

She is love made whole.

Leave a Reply

