View from above

20140116-233514.jpg

A luxury I never thought I would be able to have – an ariel photograph, the earth from the air, something amazing that technology has afforded me. When you consider that there was a time not so long ago when only rich people could afford ariel photos, you realize the democratization of subject matter a digital camera and a window seat on a cheap flight brings. Ireland’s green patchwork as viewed from above – the fields and buildings and lives and realities an embroidery of fine-woven threads that blur to make a beautiful hazy picture and I, floating far above, take a snapshot of the colours. My father would not have imagined it possible in his lifetime and I feel sad at all the changes he did not live to see. Then I dive into the detail and dream within the green.

Leave a Reply

