Emerging from the haze

2013 – was unique and life-changing. I realize that every year is technically life changing given that each day alters one physically, mentally and experience-wise moving us closer to the time we meet our maker. This last year has been such a milestone as to change me and my life beyond recognition.

I have always identified myself through the prism of my job. It separates out my talents and capabilities, the strengths that make me proud of who I am and the weaknesses I must strive to overcome. It gives me a set of achievements by which I feel valued and a marker to aim for the future. I see myself through my interaction with those I spend my day and most of my day (and week even) for the past eight or nine years has been spent at work, leaving little space beyond to develop my self as an independent person. So when, during the summer, I became very sick, I found myself in an empty space, without my usual guides. And I had no roadmap to help me out of this uncharted territory. Lack of energy added to this feeling of bewilderment. Days melted it each other.

Today I felt strongly as if I was walking out of a fog and could see some things more clearly. I cannot see the way home yet but I can look around me and find signposts to help me there.

Leave a Reply

