Goodnight.

Lights out. Torch on
(Underneath the covers)
Book out, head down
As hours melt into each other.
Every evening as a girl
When mum kissed me goodnight,
I’d feign sleep
then strike out
For a bright world
(Between the covers).
From my bedspread to my bookcase
A trail of tiny crumbs
Traced my route
back home to morning
Before the rising sun.
And when daylight,
And my mother,
Came knocking on the door
I barely could rouse
From slumbers
Just begun the hour before…

One thought on “Goodnight.”

Leave a Reply

